Shepolopolo striker Barbara Banda (11)
ENGLISH female glamour side Arsenal Ladies football club are reported to be eyeing redhot Shepolopolo winger Barbara Banda who has been impressive during the COSAFA women championship currently underway in South Africa, understands.

A source informs that a formal request is yet to be made for the Green Buffaloes football club female star player.

Barbra Banda of Zambia challenged by Mercy Achieng of Kenya during the 2017 COSAFA Women’s Championship 3rd and 4th football match between Zambia and Kenya at Barbourfields stadium.

In an event that Arsenal sign Barbara, she will become the first Zambian Female footballer to play professional football in England at the highest level.

Arsenal Women Football Club, formerly known as Arsenal Ladies Football Club, is an English women’s association football club affiliated with Arsenal Football Club.

Founded in 1987, they are the most successful club in English women’s football having won 49 national honours to date; 2 FA WSL titles, 12 FA Women’s Premier League titles, 14 FA Women’s Cups, ten Women’s Premier League Cups, 5 FA WSL Cups and one UEFA Women’s Champions League (formerly the UEFA Women’s Cup).

ROTHERHAM, ENGLAND – NOVEMBER 01: Arsenal Ladies FC in a team huddle ahead of the WSL Continental Cup Final between Arsenal Ladies FC and Notts County Ladies FC at The New York Stadium, England. (Photo by Daniel Smith/Getty Images)

The club was founded in 1987 as Arsenal Ladies Football Club by Vic Akers, the kit manager for the Arsenal men’s team, who remained the club’s manager until his retirement in 2009. They won their first major honour, the Women’s League Cup in 1991–92. Later in 1992 they won promotion to the FA Women’s Premier League and won the title at the first time of asking. As of 2010 they have won 12 of the 17 League titles, finishing as runners–up three times and won a record seven titles in a row between 2004 and 2010.

As of 2016 Arsenal have won the FA Women’s Cup fourteen times, and the Women’s League Cup ten times. This includes eight League and FA Women’s Cup Doubles; in 1992–93, 1994–95, 2000–01, 2003–04, 2005–06, 2006–07, 2007–08 and 2008–09, and four domestic Trebles, in 1992–93, 2000–01 and 2006–07, 2008–09.

Read Now:  Bigger & Better: ABSA Cup Launched, Winners to Walkaway With K500, 000

Arsenal have represented England a total of seven times in the UEFA Women’s Champions League (formerly the UEFA Women’s Cup), and had previously reached the semi-finals twice (in 2002–03 and 2004–05).

The 2006–07 season was Arsenal’s most successful ever, having won not just all three domestic trophies but also the 2006–07 UEFA Women’s Champions League (then called the UEFA Women’s Cup), beating Umeå IK in the final 1–0 on aggregate; this was the first time any British club won the competition. On top of that Arsenal won the FA Women’s Community Shield as well as the local London County FA Women’s Cup. The end result was that the team won every single competition available to them, earning a unique sextuple. The wins that year came against full-time professional players, whereas most of the Arsenal team had full-time jobs.

Additionally, Arsenal won all 22 games they played in the Premier League that season, scoring 119 goals and conceding just ten.

In recognition of the achievement, the team were honoured with The Committee Award by the Sports Journalists’ Association in the 2007 Sports Journalists’ Awards.

Arsenal were unable to retain their European crown in 2007–08, after being knocked out by Olympique Lyonnais in the quarter-finals. The Premier League Cup final was lost to Everton.
They ended the season on a high, winning the league for the fifth season in a row with 20 wins and two draws from their 22 games, and another FA Women’s Cup, beating Leeds 4–1 in the final.
Season 2008–09 saw the end of a record five year unbeaten run in the League; between 16 October 2003 (a defeat against Charlton Athletic) and 29 March 2009 (a 0–3 defeat at home to Everton) Arsenal went 108 games without defeat. During that spell, Arsenal won a record 51 league games in a row, between November 2005 and April 2008.

Despite the defeat to Everton, Arsenal went on to complete a domestic treble in 2008–09, beating Everton 1–0 away on the final day of the league season and giving Vic Akers his eleventh title and fourth Treble. Akers retired in the 2009 close season, being succeeded by Tony Gervaise.

In February 2010, after eight months in charge, Gervaise resigned, suggesting his position had been undermined by outside interference.[11] In an unusual development, reserve coach Laura Harvey became first-team manager and Gervaise became reserve coach.

Read Now:  Kalu Technically Knocked Out Of CAF Race By FAZ Boss Kamanga

The following month Arsenal were named as founder members of the FA WSL which commenced in the spring of 2011. Arsenal won the inaugural season, the eighth consecutive English title, qualifying again to the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

Arsenal players display trophy

Arsenal completed another domestic treble by becoming inaugural WSL champions, winning the FA Cup, and lifting the Continental Cup in 2011.

Read Now:  Opinion: Zambia Has Honoured & Appreciated Great Kalu More Than He Deserves

On 1 February 2013 Shelley Kerr was announced as Laura Harvey’s successor as manager of Arsenal Women. The club under her management won the FA Women’s Cup twice and Continental Cup and finish third in the league during the 2013 season.

After a poor run of form which saw the club gain only one point from the opening four league matches of the 2014 season, exit the Champions League to Birmingham and suffer a shock lose to Reading, Kerr decided to resign.

Arsenal ladies lifting the women FA cup

On 1 June 2014, Arsenal Women won the 2014 FA Women’s Cup 2 weeks after Arsenal won the 2014 FA Cup, completing a rare FA Cup double for the club.

In July 2017, the club rebranded as Arsenal Women Football Club

[ ]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here