By Ibrahim Kondowe |
Zesco United and Zanaco clash again this time in the curtain-raiser to the 2019/20 local football season at Nkoloma Stadium in Lusaka on August 17.

This seasons’ Charity Shield match pits 2019 Transitional MTN/FAZ Super Division and ABSA Cup winners Zesco United against ABSA Cup runners up Zanaco.

The match takes place less than two months after Zesco humiliated Zanaco 4-1 at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in the ABSA Cup final.

The two giants are also scheduled to meet in the MTN/FAZ Super League opening fixture on August 31 in Ndola.

Zanaco Technical Bench

Zesco heads into this encounter on the back of a 2-0 away win over Green Mamba of Eswatini last Saturday in the CAF Champions League preliminary round opener.

Read Now:  LIVE: Watch Benin Vs Zambia International Friendly

A win for Zega will see them bag their 5th shield and equal Green Buffaloes’ record of 5 shields.

Zanaco have won the shield 3 times in 2006, 2003 and 2001.

Earlier this year, Zesco lost to Nkana 5-4 at Arthur Davies Stadium following a 1-1 draw during regulation time in the Charity Shield that followed the transitional season.

Kitwe heavyweights Nkana are the record holders with 17 Shields.

ZESCO United crowned ABSA Champions
Meanwhile, the league is scheduled to start on August 31

Past winners

1967 Mufulira Wanderers

Read Now:  Now South Africa Coach Mourns as Top Goalkeeper Chibwe For Chooses Chipolopolo Over Bafana Bafana

1968 Mufulira Wanderers

1969 Kabwe Warriors

1970 Kabwe Warriors

1971 Kabwe Warriors

1972 Kabwe Warriors

1973 Kabwe Warriors

1974 Green Buffaloes

1975 Red Arrows

1976 Mufulira Wanderers

1977 Mufulira Wanderers

1978 Green Buffaloes

1979 Nchanga Rangers

1980 Green Buffaloes

1981 Ndola United

1982 Rhokana United

1983 Nkana

1984 Nkana

1985 Nkana

1986 Vitafoam United

1987 Nkana

1988 Kabwe Warriors

1989 Nkana

1990 Nkana

1991 Nkana

1992 Kabwe Warriors

1993 Nkana

1994 Nkana

1995 Nkana

1996 Nkana

1997 Nkana

1998 Power Dynamos

1999 Nchanga Rangers

2000 Nkana

2001 Zanaco

2002 Nchanga Rangers

2003 Zanaco

2004 Power Dynamos

2005 Red Arrows

2006 Zanaco

Read Now:  Top Goalkeeper Mwenya Chibwe Turns Down Bafana Bafana Call Up, Keen On Making Chipolopolo Top Grade

2007 Zesco United

2008 Green Buffaloes

2009 Power Dynamos

2010 Green Buffaloes

2011 Zesco United

2012 Power Dynamos

2013 Power Dynamos

2014 Nkana

2015 Zesco United

2016 Power Dynamos

2017 Zesco United

2018 Nkana

2019 Nkana


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here