The Football Association of Zambia has unveiled the roadmap for the 2019 transitional league ABSA Cup format with top two teams in each stream of the Super Division playing in the semi-finals.

Given the limited window before transiting to the 2019/2020 season FAZ and ABSA Bank formerly Barclays who are the sponsors have opted for a shortened format to fit the time frame.

“We wish to inform you that the Barclays Cup has been changed to ABSA Cup. The competition will be played as follows during the transition period. Top two teams in the final league tables of the Super League streams will qualify to participate in the 2019 ABSA Cup competition,” said General Secretary Adrian Kashala.

Read Now:  ZANACO FC Confirms List Of 7 Offloaded Players, 'Jemba Jemba' Tops The List

Kashala said that the semi-finals will be held on June 15 while the final will be on June 22 at venues yet to be advised.

Read Now:  KYSA Win Promotion Back Into Zambian Super League

He said that the format would only apply in the transitional season while the 2019/2020 competition will have six Super Division teams and two National Division One clubs.
Nkana are reigning Barclays Cup champions.

The re-aligned FAZ League will commence in August 2019 and end in June 2020 as directed by CAF.

Read Now:  KYSA Win Promotion Back Into Zambian Super League


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here