The 2018 CAF awards will be hosted in Dakar, Senegal on Tuesday 8th January, CAF has revealed.

The confederation has also revealed the eleven categories that will contested for.

“Nominees will be selected based on their performance from February 2018 to November 2018,” CAF stated in their release.

“The Awards Gala, to honour footballers, officials and administrators who distinguished themselves during the year under review, will be held on Tuesday, 8 January 2019 in Dakar, Senegal.”

Read Now:  U17 Selectors Send Away Over-Age Candidates

The eleven categories include; African Player of the Year, Women’s Player of the Year, Youth Player of the Year, Men’s and women’s Coach of the Year, Men’s and women’s National Team of the Year, Goal of the Year, Africa Best XI, the Ydnekatchew Tessema Trophy for the Federation President of the Year and the Platinum Award.

Nomination process

The winners for the African Player of the Year and Women’s Player of the Year will be decided by CAF Technical & Development Committee, selected Media Experts, Legends, Coaches of the quarter-finalists of the CAF Champions League and CAF Confederation Cup and the coaches and captains of the 54 member Associations.

Read Now:  Kalusha Mourns Veteran Administrator Kalenga

Just like FIFA Best awards, this time the FIFPro will coordinate the Africa Finest XI. Fans will have a say in the Goal of the Year by voting through an online public voting.

Egypt’s capatain Mohammed Salah is the reigning CAF player of the year.

[ ]
Read Now:  Kalusha Mourns Veteran Administrator Kalenga


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here